top of page
Search

Renaming A USB Drive

There is more than one method to renaming a USB Drive and it's not rocket science.


If you have a lot of of usb devices, thumb drives, external drives and the like, renaming them can come in handy.


Faced with a dilemma (having 2 of the exact same usb thumb drives) I had to rename one of them as the were both the same brand.


Kudos to: Brent Cohen who wrote this helpful article on How To Rename A USB Drive:


There are 4 different methods to rename a usb drive in the link above.

I tried using G-Parted, however; step 4 in the instructions did not work for me as choose "Label" did not appear in the drop down menu as an option.




I use the command-line 90 percent of the time with elevated privileges when I can't solve things with programs or Gui's. I ended up using the command line instructions and they worked flawlessly.


Following Method 2: Using the Command Line went well. Make sure to perform all 7 steps to rename your drive in the terminal. That is, if these are the instructions you understand and want to follow.


Using this command did the trick and now my thumb drive is named Kingston.



After typing in my password and seeing that the operation was complete I closed the terminal. Then, checking in my home directory the usb drive now show's as "Kingston."


64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page